“It is the human connection,” said Mrs Pierson

Day Nine’s assignment during the “#blogging101” course is to:
Write a post that builds on one of the comments you left yesterday

Her human touch that I felt when reading her warm, unforgettable post yesterday reminded me with an inspiring video which I watched two years ago about relationships. And, I never stop watching it since then.

Retrieved on July 16, 2015

Retrieved on July 16, 2015

In her TED Talk, Rita Pierson (May 2003) discussed the value of human connection and from the stage she sent a message to the educators to believe in their students and connect with them on a real, human, personal level. One day, one of her colleagues said to her, “They don’t pay me to like the kids. ” She responded, “Kids don’t learn from people they don’t like.” Whatever approaches and techniques teachers use to teach their subjects, they can’t succeed unless a relationship is built with students that I believe will last so long. To know more about what passionate teachers can do for their students, please click the picture below and enjoy Pierson’s talk:

Welcome back! To me as a teacher …

By heart I always teach my students not only English, but also how to be human. Apologizing, patting on the back, smiling, asking about their feelings, listening to their problems, telling them how proud I feel when they try and never give up, or even putting smiley faces on their homework are among many things that have a powerful impact on them. Believe me, doing these small things will make a difference in our students’ lives and will make them feel more secure, and self-confident when learning. They will be more positive and optimistic when dealing with challenges in their future careers.

Thank you letterI see the results at the end of each year when my students shower me with many Thank You letters, presents, flowers, or a call that I never expect, in addition to many other things that can be only felt, but not talked about. My students consider me as a good model to follow. They always imitate me; the way I speak, my body language, and even my smile. Simply, it is the human touch!

Resources: