A new e-dventure, not for me …

Day Thirteen’s task of the “#blogging101” course is to:
Pick a blogging event from the Community Event Listings, and participate in the next round.

It isn’t fun anymore! Yes, the title of my blog says, “… nonstop …”, but I frankly got bored. I just love trying new different things and activities to promote my creativity. It is not just blogging! Maybe I come back to reflect on my experiences once or twice a week. This doesn’t mean I don’t like to blog. I just want to take some rest …..

For this task, I checked out the event listings and took some time browsing and reading about the available opportunities. Then, I found something that I didn’t expect.There was an event that suits my students. Actually, it would be a great chance for them to improve their writing skills and get their voices heard. Here is something about it:

Teens tell their storyTitle: Teens Tell Their Story
Event Organizers: Sherinaspeaks
and A Little Daydreamer
When: Starts on July 22nd, 2015
Goal:
“It is a weekly prompts-based project created by two teen bloggers with a goal of creating an online space for teenagers to share their thoughts on issues that affect them.”
For more details, click here.

Last semester, I involved my students in a blogging experience in which they wrote and shared their stories in groups and individually for 2 months. It was a great success, but I made it private so students can feel more secure while posting and commenting to each other. This event is a little bit different as students will write for an authentic open audience. It is not an easy job, I know because this needs a more thorough focus on both content and form.

Let’s see if they can take part in this new e-dventure!
πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “A new e-dventure, not for me …

  1. I am one of the co-creators of this event – thanks for sharing it!! I actually started this blog as part of a school project and have been amazed at the learning process along the way, both academically and non-academically. I think it would be really cool to have your students participate, whether you have a class blog for them to post on or encourage some students to start their own blogs (or simply use the prompts from the story and connect to what other teen bloggers are saying). Either way, thanks again for sharing the project! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh! Thanks Sherina for your detailed info. It seems so great experience. It is holiday here in Egypt. I will try to contact my students to take part, but not sure to have them all. I just want to know if this event will be offered again through the year. Can I sign up for the event to see how it goes? And when students come back, I invite them to others bloggers’ stories to learn from, and start their own!

      I am looking forward to hearing from you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi @vnktchari,
      Actually, you drew my attention to the issue of evaluation. Participating in such events will provide them with many chances to get feedback from other teen bloggers and improve their stories.
      Thanks for visiting my blog. Always welcomed πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

